Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Implied Pricing for Fixed Income Derivatives

The implied pricing algorithm will contribute to improve MX market quality and liquidity by adding a new price discovery dimension. This algorithm is limited to individual BAX contracts, the options market (equity, ETF, currency and index options), and strategies. On August 19, 2013, we also activated the algorithm on CGZ, CGF and LGB. The price/time algorithm (FIFO) will be respected at all times within the context of the implied pricing market model whereby all regular orders (non implied) will always have price/time priority over implied orders.

Implied prices are disseminated through HSVF (High Speed Vendor Feed) for independent software vendors and data vendors that have developed the functionality. Contact your vendor for more information.

Should you require technical assistance or wish to carry out testing in our development environment, do not hesitate to contact our Technical Help Desk at 1-877-588-8489 or by email at samsupport@m-x.ca.

Definitions

Regular orders
Orders routed by approved participants to the Montréal Exchange trading system.

Implied orders
Orders generated by the implied pricing algorithm (using regular orders) and registered in the order book by the trading engine.

Strategy
An instrument composed of two or more legs, including spreads.

Establishing implied prices

An implied order is an order generated synthetically from two outright regular orders that are already registered in the order book. These two orders could be constituted either from two individual legs or one individual leg and a strategy involving that leg. Two types of implied orders exist:

Implied "in": Implied "in" orders are derived from regular posted orders on individual legs. Implied "in" orders allow to create a synthetic strategy market available for trading to all market participants.

Suppose the following regular markets on individual legs:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1 10 95.10 95.15 10
BAX2 5 95.00 95.05 10

The implied "in" strategy derived from posted markets would be:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1/BAX2 implied spread 10 0.05 0.15 5

The implied market for the BAX1/BAX2 strategy is a bid at 0.05 for 10 contracts and an offer at 0.15 for 5 contracts. It is important to note that the available tradable quantity in an implied spread generated by the system is the smallest available quantity on each leg in the spread. For example, the offer of 5 contracts in the BAX1/BAX2 spread corresponds to the smallest available quantity on the offer for BAX1 (10 contracts) and on the bid for BAX2 (5 contracts).

Implied "out": Implied "out" orders are derived from a combination of an existing regular spread order and an existing outright order in one of the underlying individual legs. This type of order allows creating a synthetic market on the other underlying leg.

Suppose the following markets on the BAX1/BAX2 spread and on the BAX1 leg (contract):

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1/BAX2 spread 100 0.05 0.15 500
BAX1 10 95.10 95.15 10

The implied "out" individual leg derived from these orders would be:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
Implied BAX2 10 94.95 95.10 10

As can be seen, there are three components in an implied order: each of the two individual legs (comprising the calendar spread) and the strategy on the two legs combined. In order to create an implied spread order or an implied "leg" order, two of the three components must be available.

Example of an implied order worked by the trading engine

Posted markets:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1 10 95.10 95.15 10
BAX2 5 95.00 95.05 10

Implied strategy derived from posted markets on individual contracts:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1/BAX2 implied spread 10 0.05 0.15 5

A client would like to sell the BAX1/BAX2 implied spread for 100 contracts at 0.07. The client wants to sell BAX1 and to buy BAX2 at a 0.07 price differential. The client enters the order (a regular order) in the order book, which produces the following market:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1/BAX2 spread 10 0.05 0.07 100

Note: The buy order of 0.05 on 10 contracts is an implied order (derived from regular orders on individual legs) whereas the sell order of 0.07 on 100 contracts is a regular order. The two posted orders are executable and tradable.

The trading engine will take the client spread order (100 contracts offered at 0.07) and will automatically "work" the order using individual regular orders displayed in the book. Thus, the trading engine through the implied pricing algorithm will produce for the client a tradable offer on the 10 BAX1 contracts at 95.12 in order to buy simultaneously (once the 10 BAX1 contracts are sold at 95.12) the 10 BAX2 contracts displayed (regular order) at 95.05 (for BAX1/BAX2 spread at 0.07). The trading engine will also simultaneously produce a bid of 95.03 for 10 contracts in the BAX2 contract to simultaneously sell (if the 95.03 bid is filled) 10 contracts of the BAX1 at 95.10.

The order book will show the following orders:

Contract month Quantity Bid Ask Quantity
BAX1 10 95.10 95.12 10
BAX2 10 95.03 95.05 10

Note: The sell order of 10 contracts at 95.12 in BAX1 is an implied order (derived from regular orders in the BAX1/BAX2 spread of 0.07 for 100 contracts and the offer on the BAX2 individual leg). The buy order of 10 contracts at 95.03 in BAX2 is an implied order (derived from regular orders in the BAX1/BAX2 spread of 0.07 for 100 contracts and the bid on the BAX1 individual leg).

As long as the offer for 10 BAX2 contracts at 95.05 is displayed in the order book, the implied sell order for 10 BAX1 contracts at 95.12 will be maintained by the trading engine for the sell execution of the BAX1/BAX2 spread at 0.07. Once a quantity is executed by the trading engine, the total volume of the regular order (BAX1/BAX2 spread market in this case) is adjusted accordingly (i.e. if the trading engine sells 10 BAX1 contracts at 95.12 and simultaneously buys 10 BAX2 contracts at 95.05, the engine will adjust the spread quantity to 90 contracts pending at 0.07 while confirming the partial execution of 10 contracts to the client). The same principle extends to the related regular buy order in BAX1 and implied buy order in BAX2.

Operational process

  1. Implied pricing was developed for all protocols supported by MX: SAIL (SOLA Access Information Language), FIX (Financial Information eXchange) and STAMP (Security Trading Access Message Protocol).
  2. Implied orders will be disseminated through the HSVF for independent software vendors and data vendors that have developed the functionality.
  3. Post-trade dissemination through the HSVF is supported by MX and available to approved participants and data vendors whereby trade data of individual legs resulting from implied orders will be marked distinctively.
  4. For end-of-day settlement purposes, only regular orders will be accounted for. However, trades resulting from both regular and implied orders will be considered for required volume computation.
  5. For trading purposes, each instrument will retain its current price fluctuation (as determined in the contract specifications).
  6. Erroneous trades involving transactions resulting from implied orders will be addressed according to the Procedures for the Cancellation of Trades.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Établissement de prix implicites pour les dérivés sur taux d'intérêt

L'algorithme d'établissement de prix implicites contribue à rehausser la liquidité et la qualité des marchés de la Bourse grâce à une nouvelle dimension de découverte des prix. Cet algorithme est limité aux contrats BAX individuels, au marché des options (options sur actions, sur FNB, sur devises et sur indices), et aux stratégies. Le 19 août 2013, nous avons aussi activé l'algorithme sur le CGZ, le CGF et le LGB. Dans le contexte du modèle de marché à prix implicites, l'algorithme lié à la priorité prix/temps (PEPS) est respecté en tout temps c'est-à-dire que tous les ordres réguliers (non implicites) ont toujours une priorité prix/temps sur les ordres implicites.

Les prix implicites sont disséminés sur les fils HSVF (High Speed Vendor Feed) pour les fournisseurs indépendants de logiciels et les rediffuseurs de données qui ont développé la fonctionnalité. Veuillez communiquer avec votre fournisseur de données pour plus de renseignements.

Si vous avez besoin de soutien technique ou si vous désirez entreprendre des tests dans notre environnement de développement, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre d'assistance technique au 1 877 588-8489 ou écrivez à samsupport@m-x.ca.

Définitions

Ordres réguliers
Ordres acheminés par les participants agréés au système de négociation de la Bourse.

Ordres implicites
Ordres générés par l'algorithme d'établissement de prix implicites (en utilisant des ordres réguliers) et enregistrés dans le registre des ordres par l'engin de négociation.

Stratégie
Un instrument composé de deux pattes ou plus, incluant les spreads (ou écarts).

Établissement de prix implicites

Un ordre implicite est un ordre généré synthétiquement à partir de deux ordres réguliers qui sont déjà enregistrés dans le registre des ordres. Ces deux ordres peuvent être constitués de deux pattes individuelles ou d'une patte individuelle et une stratégie impliquant cette patte. Deux types d'ordres implicites existent :

Implicites « in » : Les ordres implicites « in » sont issus des ordres réguliers sur des pattes individuelles. À partir des ordres implicites « in », on peut créer un marché de stratégies synthétiques pouvant être concrètement négociées par les intervenants du marché.

Supposons les marchés réguliers suivants sur contrats individuels :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
BAX1 10 95,10 95,15 10
BAX2 5 95,00 95,05 10

La stratégie implicite « in » issue de ces marchés serait :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
Spread implicite BAX1/BAX2 10 0,05 0,15 5

Ainsi, le marché implicite de la stratégie BAX1/BAX2 est un cours acheteur à 0,05 pour 10 contrats et un cours vendeur à 0,15 pour 5 contrats. Il est important de noter que la quantité disponible à négocier dans le spread implicite généré par le système est la plus petite quantité disponible de chaque patte impliquée dans le spread en question. Par exemple, l'offre de 5 contrats sur le spread implicite BAX1/BAX2 résulte de la plus petite quantité disponible sur le cours vendeur du contrat BAX1 (10 contrats) et le cours acheteur du contrat BAX2 (5 contrats).

Implicites « out » : Les ordres implicites « out » sont issus d'une combinaison entre un ordre régulier existant sur une stratégie et un ordre existant sur l'une des pattes individuelles sous-jacentes. Ce type d'ordre permet de créer un marché synthétique sur l'autre patte sous-jacente de la stratégie.

Supposons les marchés réguliers suivants sur la stratégie BAX1/BAX2 et la patte (contrat) BAX1 :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
Spread BAX1/BAX2 100 0,05 0,15 500
BAX1 10 95,10 95,15 10

La patte individuelle implicite « out » issue de ces ordres serait :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
BAX2 implicite 10 94,95 95,10 10

Il y a donc trois composantes dans un ordre implicite : chacune des deux pattes individuelles (composant le spread calendaire) et la stratégie de ces deux pattes combinées. Afin de pouvoir créer un ordre implicite sur la stratégie (le spread) ou sur une des pattes, deux de ces trois composantes doivent être disponibles.

Exemple d'un ordre implicite travaillé par l'engin de négociation

Marchés affichés :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
BAX1 10 95,10 95,15 10
BAX2 5 95,00 95,05 10

Stratégie implicite issue des marchés individuels affichés ci-dessus :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
Spread implicite BAX1/BAX2 10 0,05 0,15 5

Un client veut vendre 100 contrats du spread implicite BAX1/BAX2 à un prix de 0,07. Le client veut donc vendre le BAX1 et acheter le BAX2 avec un écart de 0,07. Le client entre son ordre (un ordre régulier) dans le registre des ordres, ce qui donne le marché suivant :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
Spread BAX1/BAX2 10 0,05 0,07 100

Note : L'ordre d'achat des 10 contrats à 0,05 est un ordre implicite (issu des ordres réguliers sur les pattes individuelles) tandis que l'ordre de vente des 100 contrats à 0,07 est un ordre régulier. Les deux ordres affichés dans le registre des ordres sont exécutables et négociables.

L'engin de négociation prendra l'ordre du client (100 contrats offerts à 0,07) et le « travaillera » automatiquement en utilisant des ordres réguliers individuels affichés dans le registre. Ainsi, grâce à l'algorithme d'établissement des prix implicites, l'engin de négociation produira au nom du client une offre négociable pour 10 contrats BAX1 au prix de 95,12 dans le but d'acheter simultanément (une fois ces 10 contrats vendus à 95,12) les 10 contrats BAX2 affichés (ordre régulier) au prix de 95,05 (pour un spread BAX1/BAX2 au prix de 0,07). L'engin va aussi créer un cours acheteur de 95,03 pour 10 contrats BAX2 dans le but de vendre simultanément (si l'ordre est exécuté) les 10 contrats du BAX1 à 95,10.

Le registre des ordres sera composé des ordres suivants :

Mois d'échéance Quantité Cours acheteur Cours vendeur Quantité
BAX1 10 95,10 95,12 10
BAX2 10 95,03 95,05 10

Note : L'ordre de vente des 10 contrats à 95,12 dans le BAX1 est un ordre implicite (issu des ordres réguliers de l'offre de 100 contrats du spread BAX1/BAX2 affiché à 0,07 et de l'offre affichée sur la patte individuelle du BAX2). Le cours achetaur des 10 contrats à 95,03 dans le BAX2 est un ordre implicite (issu des ordres réguliers de l'offre de 100 contrats du spread BAX1/BAX2 affiché à 0,07 et du cours acheteur affiché sur la patte individuelle du BAX1).

Tant et aussi longtemps que l'offre des 10 contrats BAX2 à 95,05 est affichée dans le registre des ordres, l'ordre implicite de vente des 10 contrats BAX1 au prix de 95,12 sera maintenue par l'engin de négociation afin d'exécuter la vente du spread BAX1/BAX2 au prix de 0,07. Dès qu'une quantité est exécutée par l'engin de négociation, le volume total de l'ordre régulier (le marché du spread BAX1/BAX2 dans ce cas) est ajusté en conséquence (p.ex. : si l'engin de négociation vend 10 contrats BAX1 au prix de 95,12 et simultanément achète 10 contrats BAX2 au prix de 95,05, l'engin devra ajuster la quantité du spread à 90 contrats qui restent à travailler au prix de 0,07 tout en confirmant au client l'exécution partielle de la commande pour 10 contrats). Le même principe s'applique au cours acheteur implicite du BAX2 qui est relié au cours acheteur régulier du BAX1.

Processus opérationnel

  1. L'établissement de prix implicites a été développé pour tous les protocoles supportés par la Bourse : SAIL (SOLA Access Information Language), FIX (Financial Information eXchange) et STAMP (Security Trading Access Message Protocol).
  2. Les ordres implicites sont disséminés sur les fils HSVF pour les fournisseurs indépendants de logiciel et les rediffuseurs de données qui ont développé la fonctionnalité.
  3. La diffusion post-transaction sur les fils HSVF est faite par la Bourse et les données de transaction sur les pattes individuelles (résultant d'ordres implicites) sont clairement identifiées.
  4. Pour les fins d'établissement des prix de règlement quotidien, seuls les ordres réguliers sont comptabilisés. Toutefois, les transactions résultant autant d'ordres réguliers qu'implicites sont considérés pour le calcul des volumes.
  5. Pour les fins de la négociation, chaque instrument conserve son unité de fluctuation des prix (tel que déterminé dans les caractéristiques des contrats).
  6. Les transactions erronées impliquant des opérations provenant d'ordres implicites seront traitées selon les modifications proposées aux Procédures applicables à l'annulation ou à l'ajustement d'opérations.