Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Financial Markets Department

The Canadian Derivatives Market still remains a mysterious topic amongst the student community. In addition, the graduate and undergraduate curriculum are mainly geared towards the understanding of the theory around financial derivatives rather than the importance of proper application. Although theory is essential to understanding the core principles behind derivatives trading, it serves better in complement with practical implementation relevant to today's financial world. The Montréal Exchange therefore has an opportunity to collaborate with the various universities in the Province of Quebec and to offer its expertise in the Canadian derivatives market as a complementary educational tool.

University partnership objectives

  • Increase its visibility amongst the student community in order to position the Montréal Exchange as a centre of excellence in the Canadian derivatives market.
  • Collaborate to the learning experience of students enrolled in Finance by providing information related to the derivatives products offered in Canada, how they are used daily by market participants and the overall activities of the Montréal Exchange as a central financial exchange.
  • Support and encourage the development of talented and skilled employees interested in a career in the derivatives market.

Benefits for universities

  • Offering to the student community a national perspective on the financial industry and the Canadian derivatives industry.
  • Rely on local expertise in order to bridge the gap between theory and practice.
  • Expose students to the various employment opportunities available in the Canadian derivatives market.

Suggested activities

On-site educational workshops

Educational seminars on derivatives held at the Montréal Exchange, followed by a visit of the Market Operations facility.

In-class seminars

Participation of a representative from the Montréal Exchange as a guest speaker in lectures focused on portfolio management, risk management, financial derivatives, and trading.

General seminar

Faculty-wide seminar aimed at providing a more general overview of the Montréal Exchange, its activities and products.

Cocktail

Reception to be held at the university hosted by the Montréal Exchange in order to provide networking opportunities between students and employees from The Montréal Exchange. All sectors of activities would be represented including Financial Markets, Information Technology, Human Resources and Market Operations.

Sponsorship of trading simulation

Financial contribution offered by the Montréal Exchange to the organization of a trading simulation. The Montréal Exchange also commit to being on site the day of the event to support the participating teams.

Youth ambassador position

The Montréal Exchange encourages students to submit applications for the youth ambassador position.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

Département des marchés financiers

Le marché des produits dérivés canadiens est méconnu par la communauté étudiante. De plus, le curriculum universitaire se concentre majoritairement sur l'aspect théorique des produits dérivés. Ce dernier, bien qu'essentiel à l'apprentissage, demande à être jumelé à une application pratique dans le monde de la finance actuel afin d'acquérir une compréhension globale du sujet en question. La Bourse de Montréal entrevoit ainsi la possibilité de collaborer avec les diverses universités québécoises et d'offrir son expertise à des fins de formation complémentaire.

Objectifs de partenariat universitaire

  • obtenir une visibilité accrue auprès de la communauté étudiante afin de positionner la Bourse comme centre d'excellence dans le marché des produits dérivés canadiens,
  • collaborer au processus d'apprentissage des étudiants par la présentation des divers produits dérivés disponibles sur le marché boursier canadien, l'utilisation pratique de ces instruments par les divers participants du marché ainsi que le fonctionnement de la Bourse en tant que lieu central de négociation, et
  • assurer une relève en suscitant un intérêt pour le marché des produits dérivés.

Bénéfices pour les universités québécoises

  • offrir à la communauté étudiante une perspective nationale de l'industrie de la finance et des produits dérivés canadiens,
  • miser sur une expertise locale afin d'offrir un pont entre le monde théorique et pratique, et
  • exposer la communauté étudiante aux diverses perspectives d'emploi dans l'industrie des produits dérivés.

Activités suggérées

Atelier de formation sur le terrain

Atelier de formation sur les produits dérivés dans les locaux de la Bourse, suivi d'une visite de la salle Opérations de marché.

Séminaire en classe

Participation d'un représentant de la Bourse à titre d'expert aux cours concentrés sur la négociation en bourse, les produits dérivés, la gestion de portefeuille et la gestion de risque.

Séminaire général

Séance éducative visant à offrir un survol général de la Bourse, ses activités et ses produits auprès des facultés de finance.

Cocktail

Réception tenue dans les diverses universités par la Bourse destinée à tous les étudiants des facultés de finance axée sur le réseautage avec des représentants de différents secteurs d'activités de la Bourse de Montréal (marchés financiers, opérations de marché, technologie de l'information et ressources humaines).

Commandite « Simulation boursière »

Contribution monétaire de la Bourse de Montréal dans le cadre d'une simulation boursière. La Bourse de Montréal s'engage également à être présente le jour de la simulation afin de soutenir les équipes participantes.