Canadian Derivatives Exchange*

Overview

The Exchange's offices and markets are closed today, December 25, 2014 (Christmas Day).

The Montréal Exchange (MX), Canada's oldest exchange, is a fully electronic exchange dedicated to the development of the Canadian derivative markets.

A complete line of integrated services

As the sole financial derivatives exchange in Canada, MX today exerts its leadership in the following areas of expertise:

  • Financial derivatives markets
  • Information technology solutions
  • Clearing services

Unique risk management products

The market for exchange-traded derivatives is one of the strongest segments of the broader financial risk management industry worldwide. MX offers individual and institutional investors, both in Canada and abroad, a wide range of risk management products for protecting their investments and ensuring growth.

MX currently lists:

A notable entrance in the American market

In February 2004, MX took a position in the huge and growing US equity options market through its majority ownership interest in the Boston Options Exchange (BOX). As technology partner in BOX, MX is responsible for the market operations and technological development of the exchange.

An imaginative groundbreaking entrepreneur

MX is working with a respected US partner, the Chicago Climate Exchange (CCX), to set up the first climate exchange in Montréal. This new market will offer innovative market-based solutions to the global environmental challenge of climate change.

Reliable, flexible and advanced trading technologies

Advanced electronic trading software plays a key role in the development of financial exchanges worldwide. MX and BOX markets are supported by reliable, flexible and advanced trading technologies. As a dynamic institution with a proven capacity to innovate, MX has developed and completed a proprietary "next generation" trading system called SOLA®. Thanks to SOLA®, MX now leads the way in trading software innovations.

Top-rated clearing services

MX clearing house, the Canadian Derivatives Clearing Corporation (CDCC), provides central counterparty clearing services to participants. CDCC, who rigorously manages risk exposures, continues to distinguish itself by upholding a top investment rating and a strong reputation. Recently, CDCC completed regulatory rule changes allowing the clearing house to offer risk management services to partners in the OTC market.

A growing number of market participants

MX market liquidity is on the rise. This growth is driven by the increased appetite of traders and investors from a growing list of countries for exposure to derivative instruments. More than 90 approved participants from London, New York, Chicago, and Montréal now connect directly to MX electronic trading system.

Bourse canadienne de produits dérivés*

En bref

Première bourse à voir le jour au Canada, la Bourse de Montréal est aujourd'hui une bourse entièrement automatisée et vouée au développement du marché des instruments dérivés canadiens.

Un carrefour financier

En qualité de seule bourse canadienne de produits dérivés financiers, la Bourse de Montréal exerce son leadership dans trois domaines de la finance :

  • les instruments dérivés financiers
  • les solutions technologiques
  • les services de compensation

Une offre unique au Canada

Le marché des produits dérivés négociés en bourse est l'un des segments les plus dynamiques du secteur mondial de la gestion des risques financiers. La Bourse de Montréal offre aux investisseurs particuliers et institutionnels, au Canada comme à l'étranger, une vaste gamme de produits dérivés destinés à protéger leurs investissements et en assurer la croissance.

Parmi cette gamme, on retrouve :

Une entrée remarquée dans le marché américain

En février 2004, la Bourse de Montréal est entrée dans l'énorme marché des options sur actions américaines par le biais de sa participation majoritaire dans la Boston Options Exchange (BOX). À titre de partenaire de BOX, la Bourse est responsable des activités de marché et des développements technologiques de cette bourse.

Des technologies de négociation évoluées, fiables et souples

Les logiciels de négociation électronique évolués jouent un rôle crucial dans l'expansion des échanges financiers à l'échelle mondiale. Les marchés de la Bourse de Montréal et de BOX s'appuient sur des technologies de négociation évoluées, fiables et souples. Toujours à l'avant-garde, la Bourse de Montréal a développé et mis en ouvre un système de négociation exclusif de « nouvelle génération », appelé SOLA®. Grâce à ce système, la Bourse occupe la première place dans le domaine du développement de logiciel de négociation.

Des services de compensation irréprochables

La chambre de compensation de la Bourse de Montréal, la Corporation canadienne de produits dérivés (CDCC), fournit aux investisseurs des services de compensation et de contrepartie centrale. La chambre se démarque par sa gestion rigoureuse des risques et elle bénéficie d'une excellente cote AA et d'une solide réputation. Tout récemment, la Bourse de Montréal a mis en place les infrastructures réglementaires et opérationnelles requises pour que la CDCC puisse offrir des services de compensation au marché hors cote.

Un nombre de participants aux marchés qui ne cesse d'augmenter

La liquidité du marché des dérivés de la Bourse de Montréal est en forte hausse. Cette croissance est attribuable à l'intérêt accru manifesté par les négociateurs et les investisseurs, canadiens et étrangers, pour les instruments dérivés. Aujourd'hui, plus de 90 participants agréés de Londres, New York, Chicago et de Montréal sont connectés directement à la plateforme de négociation de la Bourse de Montréal.